Appalachian National Scenic Trail

The Appalachian NST logo is a triangle-shaped trail sign with the letters A and T in white stacked on top of each other against a dark green background


Established: October 2, 1968
Managing Nonprofit: Appalachian Trail Conservancy, Appalachian Mountain Club
Managing Agency: National Park Service


A narrow graphical map of the Appalachian NST

Map of the Appalachian NST courtesy NPS.

The Appalachian National Scenic Trail (ANST), along with the Pacific Crest National Scenic Trail, was of two original National Trail designated by Congress with the passage of the 1968 National Trails System Act. The ANST is famous for its deep forest treks and mountain views and has been the feature of numerous books about thru-hiking. The first thru-hike of the ANST occurred long before the trail was officially designated, however, and was completed in 1948 by World War II veteran Earl Schaffer. The ANST is one of three trails that a person has to thru-hike to earn the title of “Triple Crowner”. The other two “Triple Crown” trails are the Pacific Crest National Scenic Trail and the Continental Divide National Scenic Trail.

Northern Terminus: Mt. Katadhin, Maine

Southern Terminus: Springer Mountain, Georgia

The trail follows the Appalachian Mountain Range through 14 states including, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, West Virginia, Virginia, Tennessee, North Carolina, and Georgia.